top of page
  • Writer's pictureNikita Chawda

How to Paint: Sunset Landscape

Updated: May 22, 2020

Hey! In this Blog Post, I will be walking you through this beautiful hilly sunset landscape! Learn about the colours and techniques step by step and paint along with me!

Materials


1. Paper: Watercolour Paper 300gsm Paper Factory (Pondicherry, India)

2. Paint: Faber-Castell Creative Studio Watercolours (24 Colour Set)

3. Brushes: Faber-Castell Tri-Grip Synthetic Brushes

4. Accessories: Pencil, Eraser, Waste Cloth, Water Bowl


Alternate Material Options


1. Paper: Canson 300gsm Sheets, Brustro 300gsm Watercolour Paper, Chitrapat Watercolour Paper

2. Paint: Camlin Artists Watercolour Paint

3. Brushes: Faber-Castell Synthetic Brush Set, Camlin Synthetic Brush Set


Let’s Draw


Landscape pieces don’t necessarily need a detailed drawing or sketch. Always draw out a basic guide to help you mark out areas such as the sky and land. For this piece, I have attached below the basic reference or sketch you need before you start painting. I drew this basic guide out directly onto my A5 Watercolor Paper and was ready to paint.


Painting Process and Colour Guide


We will paint this piece in two parts. First is the sky and second is the land. Attached below is a colour guide with all the colours I have used to create this piece.



Starting off with sky, I simply added in colours from dark to light. I started with the yellow shade and diluted it down with water to create the several tones. Next I added in the orange and red remembering to blend as I go. Finally I added in the darker shades such as the maroon and purple. You don’t have to necessarily wait between colours while painting the sky as you want them to blend and form a uniform looking base.

To create the hills, I started off with the darker blue shades right at the top. I waited for the sky to completely dry out and recommend waiting between each hill or layer before the next when painting pieces like this. Each layer uses a different shade moving from the darker shades to the lighter ones namely dark blue, medium blue, dark green, medium green and light green. Add the colour right at the top of your layer and blend downwards so as to leave space for the lighter shade to go in. After all your layers are done and dry, mix up a dark green shade for your trees. I have added in simple pine trees of various sizes all over at random to complete the piece. To watch me do this in real time, check out my YouTube video that will release this Sunday!

Comment and Like if this helps!

Happy Arting!




43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2023 by The Artifact. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • YouTube
  • Pinterest
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
bottom of page